The Modern Apprenticeship Group (MAG) meets every six weeks.

All frameworks and supporting documents must be submitted to the MA Subgroup prior to submission to MAG. Find out when the MAG meeting and submission dates are for the next year.

There are four levels of apprenticeship in Scotland:

  • Modern Apprenticeships at SCQF Level 5
  • Modern Apprenticeships at SCQF Level 6 or 7
  • Technical Apprenticeships at SCQF Level 8 or 9
  • Professional Apprenticeships at SCQF Level 10 and above

Technical and Professional Apprenticeships were introduced following the Scottish Government's "Making Training Better" Consultation in late 2011.

SCQF Credit Rating

The mandatory qualification(s) in each framework must be credit rated for the SCQF, with SCQF Level and Credit Points listed in the Framework.  If the qualification is not credit rated,  the framework cannot be approved. More information on SCQF Credit Rating can be found on the SCQF website.

Framework Template and Guidance and Proposal Template

The Framework and Guidance Documents were amended in April 2014 to reflect minor changes, including a requirement to add the suggested duration of the apprenticeship and information on content of training. Sector Skills Organisations should use the most recent versions.

There are separate Standard Framework Templates for Modern Apprenticeships and Technical/Professional Apprenticeships. These should be used when revising an existing Framework or developing a new Framework. The completed Framework must be submitted with the Proposal Template.

There is one Guidance and Proposal Template which covers Modern, Technical and Professional Apprenticeships. This outlines the information and evidence required for the approval or re-approval of a Scottish Framework and provides general guidance on the approval and re-approval process. The guidance in this document is not exhaustive, but should be regarded as the minimum evidence to be included. The guidance document has four appendices

Appendix 1: Proposal Template Document

This must be completed and enclosed when submitting a new or revised Framework.

Appendix 2: Checklist

For use by SSOs when submitting a Framework, to ensure that all required information is included. It lists the criteria used by the MA Sub-Group when reviewing Frameworks and Proposal Documents.

Appendix 3: MA VQ Template

This provides a list of the mandatory qualifications within the MA Framework. It must be included with the submission.

Appendix 4: List of Career Skills

This is for Technical and Professional Apprenticeships only. Modern Apprenticeships still include Core Skills.

Sector Skills Organisations should also read the sections on Core Skills and Modern Apprenticeships and Career Skills for Technical/ Professional Apprenticeships.

Read an overview of Technical and Professional Apprenticeships